Winners of MediaCorp News Awards 2014

Singapore, 30 July 2014 – MediaCorp News Awards 2014 this evening celebrated its eighth year of winning journalistic works across its multiple news platforms on television, radio, print and online.

This year’s theme, Tweet, Post, Share, reflects the digital age where citizen journalism abounds and news first broke on the social network. Nominees and guests were encouraged to tweet and send instagrams to #mna2014sg even before the celebratory night.

The awards night held at the Conrad Centennial Singapore, recognised winners in six categories:

  • News Story of the Year

Winner: Get Rea! – Point Blank - TV

  • Feature Story of the Year

Winner: The Haze Situation in Indonesia - Press

  • Entertainment Story of the Year

Winner: Frontline – Remembering Huang Wenyong - TV

  • Digital Initiative of the Year

Winner: Budget 2014: The Breakdown - Press

  • Young Journalist of the Year

Winner: Lin Hui - Radio

  • Journalist of the Year

Winner: Derek Goh Loh Junk - TV

Walter Fernandez, MediaCorp Editor-in-Chief said: “I would like to congratulate our winners.  In a year of huge news stories, MediaCorp news teams consistently demonstrated their commitment to reporting events as they unfolded and providing perspectives that gave our viewers, listeners and readers a fuller appreciation of events.  The teams produced excellent work across our TV, radio, print and online platforms, of which the best are being recognised tonight.”

A distinguished panel of local judges selected the winning entries from various news platforms – radio and press with nominations from television culled from 1 April 2013 to 31 March 2014.

Judge President Pericles Lewis, Founding President and Professor of Humanities of Yale-NUS College shared on what made good news and his thoughts of the submissions this year, says, “The submissions had a great range from local stories to international stories with in-depth reporting. I thought that was very impressive. On a good news story, I think timeliness is important, and that it has to contribute something to the current conversation and discourse. And then, I think thorough research is extremely important followed by good story-telling.”

Please see Annex 1 for the panel of judges. The full winners’ credit list can be found in Annex 2.

Issued by Brand and Communications, MediaCorp

For more information, please contact:

Yeong Lai Lai

Senior Manager

Brand and Communications


Tel:        (65) 6350 3945

Fax:      (65) 6251 5628


About MediaCorp

MediaCorp is Singapore’s leading media company with the most complete range of platforms, spanning television, radio, newspapers, magazines, movies, digital and out-of-home media.

It pioneered the development of Singapore’s broadcasting industry, with the broadcast of Radio in 1936 and Television in 1963. Today, MediaCorp has over 50 products and brands in four languages (English, Mandarin, Malay and Tamil), reaching out to all adults in Singapore every week.

Initiatives in the new digital space include Internet TV-on-demand, High Definition TV broadcast and Over-the-Top (OTT) interactive services.

Beyond Singapore, MediaCorp is an active regional player through co-productions in TV dramas and movies, magazines publishing, as well as Channel NewsAsia International, one of the first Asian-owned English news channels.

Our financial and strategic relationship in the region includes International Media Corporation in Vietnam, which was set up to develop and produce television entertainment and economic news content. MediaCorp also has a stake in Singapore-based retail firm Reebonz, one of the region’s fastest growing luxury online retailers and a majority stake in Cubinet Interactive, a Malaysian digital games publisher.

Winner of numerous international awards and accolades including Asian Television Awards’ Terrestrial Broadcaster of the Year, MediaCorp’s mission is to engage, entertain and enrich audiences by harnessing the power of creativity.

For more information, please visit

Annex 1

Panel of judges

Chong Siak Ching


National Art Gallery

Douglas Foo

Chairman and CEO 

Sakae Holdings Ltd

Pat Law



Pericles Lewis

Founding President & Professor of Humanities

Yale-NUS College

Yam Ah Mee

Managing Director

Sembcorp Design and Construction Pte Ltd

Annex 2

Winners’ Credit List

News Story of the Year

Get Rea! – Point Blank - TV

Narrator: David Gavin Artlett

Opening Titles: Timothy De Souza, Anna Tolentino, Lenny Matnor

Writer: Maria Ronald

Graphics: Soong Ching Yee, Joanne Dreaver

Producer: Anna Tolentino

Associate Producer: Rosmah Samin

Editor: Sharon Hun

Video Editor: Suraya Latip, Rizal Raquiza Felix, Md Mawar Hashim, Kelvin Lee 

Post Production: Wang Yan

Camera & Sound: Jerry Rosales

Online Producers & Social Media Managers: Say Xiangyu, Timothy Martin De Souza, Pravitha Gopikannan

Feature Story of the Year

The Haze Situation in Indonesia - Press

Journalists: Neo Chai Chin, Ooi Boon Keong

Entertainment Story of the Year

Frontline – Remembering Huang Wenyong - TV

Deputy Editor: Ang Ka Swan

Producers: Soh Bee Lan, John Woo Wee Kuan

Executive Producer: Wee Wai Lin

Post Production: Teng Sing Boon

Video Editors: Ang Siew Wuan, Teng Sing Boon, Rudi Osman

Cameracrew: Goh Khay Pheng, Raymond Wong, Rosli Semedri, Azman Marashah, Khaironi Salleh, Ong Joo Chei, Lim Ju Lian, Png Choo Pee, Mohammad Azhar Bin Masdar

Digital Initiative of the Year

Budget 2014: The Breakdown - Press

Rodolfo Pazos, Yime Benites

Young Journalist of the Year

Lin Hui


Journalist of the Year

Derek Goh Loh Junk